Ally’s Thoughts: Arisha Akhir, Corporate to Writer

str2_lo_2205_arishapeople_print_lo-e1495358912611-770x470
Image from: The Star Online

Hi everyone!

I read the news today and I cannot contain my excitement to share this one with all of you!

Via She left corporate life to become a writer – The Star Online

When she struggles to articulate her innermost thoughts to the people who matter deeply, Arisha Akhir resorts to taking the literary route – writing her feelings in prose. The 33-year-old teacher, writer and poet, often feels that saying something verbally lacks depth. Nothing beats saying something in the written word.

“Sometimes, it’s just hard to tell it like it is, to relate the painful truth. And sometimes, saying thank you just doesn’t seem enough for me … I have to put it in writing,” said the Piscean.

Writing became a means to an end for her in expressing herself. When her mother (after numerous threats, one would assume) suddenly confiscated her staple reading diet, her cache of Archie comic books, she attempted to exact her own form of revenge – creating stories plucked from her imagination.

“I was always a very competitive child, so when those comics were taken away from me, I decided, I would make up and write my own stories,” she expressed, laughing in incredulity.

Personally to me, it is always inspiring to read or to know someone that fight for their passion and be someone they wanted to be. It doesn’t matter as long as they know what they want.

It is better to fight for the things you want rather than wasting your life doing the things you don’t want to because we don’t live forever. You will never be afraid if you know what you want to do. It will be a motivation for you to keep on moving forward and fight for your passion.

I was there before, not knowing what to do and without passion. I woke up every single day and go to work without understanding what I like the most. If you came to realize that you found the thing that you want to do, do not let it go. No matter how old you are, take it as something fresh and let it motivates you to go further.

In my perspective, Arisha Akhir is a hero. One who is brave enough to pursue and venture her passion against what others think foolishness.

Her ambition and passion inspires me, I hope you feel the same too!

*By records, I am now in a corporate world for the second time.

5 thoughts on “Ally’s Thoughts: Arisha Akhir, Corporate to Writer

  1. So true, it is very important to do what you want to do in life but the true essence lies in finding what you want to do and the search must go on till you find it.
    Lovely and inspiring post.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This made me excited to figure up what I really want from my life. But for now I want to gain experience first but hopefully, when I know what I want and understand my capacity better, I hope I’ll dive right in. I don’t want to spend the rest of my life doing things that eventually turn into some dull daily routine.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A friend once told me, the moment you stop looking, discovering and learning will be the start of your dull moment. I do hope you will find your long lasting passion. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

