Ally’s Thoughts: Did They APPROVED?

online-publication-securityyyyyyyyyy-816x427
Source: Vulcan Post

After I read this article from Vulcan Post, I instantly wanted to share it!

Via Do M’sian Parents Disapprove of “Low-Paying Online Writing Jobs”? We Ask 13 Writers. – Vulcan Post

Every now and again my dad gleefully comes up to me with an article open on his phone to point out the occasional missed typo or to gently mock something that I’ve written.

As a man who once gave up an engineering career to pursue a passion job in computer programming (a risky job back in his days), he’s very understanding of my situation and current job.

My mother, however, disapproves.

She has dreams of me working in a Fortune 500 company.

I was meant to climb the corporate ladder, eventually earn a lot of money and be taken care of in the future financially.

She doesn’t think that’s the case here as a writer.

In Malaysia, online publication is somewhat new. Not in terms of presence but in term of exposure.

Thanks to the rapid growth of internet, it gets easier to read and share news now. I find them amazing, these writers. They believed in their passion and pursue them. Even to find the slightest chance towards their passion, they didn’t waste it.

Some of their parents were supportive enough and some are not. However, they have proven themselves that they CAN! They able to do the things that they wanted to do.

I believe in the growth of this industry. I’m an avid readers of these sites and their content have captured this heart of mine. They were entertaining, fun, silly and sometimes so pedas (spicy hot) with their words and trolls.

In my opinion, they are the one that express Malaysian more and captured the attention of younger audiences. I do read news and such but they added their own flavor in their content. I believe that some of older audience would enjoy their content as well.

I am totally supporting these writers and more to come! Be proud and I am sure that your writing will shape the future.

As for my case, my parents did not stopped me from being a writer. They did encourage me to do the things that I like. The same thing that I will tell my children later.

Life is already short for us not to live in adventure and chase the future that we wanted. You are the one who define, who you want to be. It’s totally your choice!

12 thoughts on “Ally’s Thoughts: Did They APPROVED?

  1. We alswsy curse or blame ourself for not having choice like the other person had, but the whole concept of life is about choice. We all do make choices every moment of the life, then why not following passion choice is not seen by everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Parents only want what’s best for their kids. We worry that when we are gone who’s going to look after you guys? We worry that if you don’t find a financially secured job then you’d be out on the street just as quick. That’s why. It’s not to do with status or money or keep face. It’s us worrying that you’d be out on the streets.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally understand the parents perspective such as yours, Dewy. I think that is what every parents want when it comes to their kids. In my opinion, its not wrong. The best thing a parent can do is to provide the needs that they need when they are growing up. The necessaties, the education and the proper surrounding.

      However, as kids grew up, they have the basic idea of the things that they wanted to do. Especially mellenials because they are more exposed in a different type of surrounding compared to their parents. In some countries, working trend are different. Some are encouraged to chase their passions such as America and some prefer the stability and loyalty such as Japan.

      SO, when they reached the point where they have to decide what they wanted to do, it is an important stage for the kids and the parents as well. The kids and their parents need to talk this thoroughly so they can reach an understanding. Perhaps coming up with action plan for the next five years or so.

      It may seem light and easy for me to say because I am not yet a parent but I am one of the kid to a parent. I made my parent understand on the things that I wanted to do.

      Thank you for the comment. I really appreciate it, Dewy. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “Life is already short for us not to live in adventure and chase the future that we wanted. You are the one who define, who you want to be. It’s totally your choice!” -> Can I have this printed and framed so I can hang it on my wall? ❤

    Seriously though, this post was so relatable to me. If the society as a whole encouraged more creative pursuits as opposed to financial ones, we would all be much happier.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

